cyclic jobs A , B ,C to run in order

All questions about Control-M jobs definitions
Post Reply
User avatar
anirudhrh
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Sep 2013 12:00

cyclic jobs A , B ,C to run in order

Post by anirudhrh » 06 Nov 2013 9:32

hi All,
I have three cyclic jobs A , B ,C

I want them to run in order - A --> B--> C--->A--->B and so on
and in case of any failure pass the condition to the second and wait for its next run.
Please let me know your view . Do I need to create a Dummy job. If yes please let me know how to define the conditions for it .

User avatar
benjamin
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Mar 2010 12:00

Post by benjamin » 07 Nov 2013 12:19

I'd create a Dummy job to kick off the Cycle by adding JOBA's in condition,
Then when JOBA finishes it deletes it's own in conditon & adds the in condition for JOBB, the cycle runs through & then JOBC kicks off JOBA

Dummy [A_in + ]->
JOBA -[A_in -] & [B_in +] ->
JOBB [B_in -] & [C_in +] ->
JOBC [C_in -] & [A_in +] ->
JOBA -[A_in -] & [C_in +] ->
JOBB [B_in -] & [C_in +] ->

& So on.
When you want the Cycle to stop set up another Dummy job to remove the in conditions.

As far as kicking off the next job on failure in the Steps tab, just set the Stmt= * & Code=* then jobs to DO OK


Hope this helps

User avatar
anirudhrh
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Sep 2013 12:00

Post by anirudhrh » 07 Nov 2013 2:45

but if i add for Job C
In condition c
out condition c- and a +

When i Do this
JOBC [C_in -] & [A_in +] ->

A will be waiting for C

the the job A waits for condition from Job C and will not trigger the first time.[/img]
Last edited by anirudhrh on 07 Nov 2013 3:11, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
benjamin
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Mar 2010 12:00

Post by benjamin » 07 Nov 2013 3:02

The Dummy job is what adds the in condition for the first run of JOBA.
That is what will initiate the cycle.

Dummy [A_in + ]->
JOBA -[A_in -] & [B_in +] ->
JOBB [B_in -] & [C_in +] ->
JOBC [C_in -] & [A_in +] ->
JOBA -[A_in -] & [B_in +] ->
JOBB [B_in -] & [C_in +] ->

User avatar
anirudhrh
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Sep 2013 12:00

Post by anirudhrh » 07 Nov 2013 3:17

I am extremely sorry for not understanding it properly . her is what i have done now

Dummy job
In Condition - ()
Outcondition - A

Job A
in Condition - A
Out condition - B + and A -

Job B
In condition - B
Out Condition - C and B -

Job C
In Condition - C
Out condition A+ and C-

Please let me know if anything else needs to be addded , I ma unable to ttest it as its in Production.

User avatar
benjamin
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 4
Joined: 12 Mar 2010 12:00

Post by benjamin » 07 Nov 2013 3:26

Yep, just like this.
That should get them going in a cycle

Dummy job
In Condition - ()
Outcondition - A +

Job A
in Condition - A
Out condition - B + and A -

Job B
In condition - B
Out Condition - C + and B -

Job C
In Condition - C
Out condition A+ and C-

User avatar
anirudhrh
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Sep 2013 12:00

Post by anirudhrh » 07 Nov 2013 6:04

Thank you so much .. Now i got the point .. I guess i was thinking a lot more than necessary and making it complex.

Appreciate your help and patience.

User avatar
vamsikumar
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 10
Joined: 23 Aug 2013 12:00
Location: Banglore

Post by vamsikumar » 08 Nov 2013 2:00

I think, Dummy job is not required in this scenario.

We can keep the condition directly to job A what we are supposed to put the Dummy job.

User avatar
anirudhrh
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 48
Joined: 21 Sep 2013 12:00

Post by anirudhrh » 11 Nov 2013 8:15

If we put a In-condition for the Job A . then the job never triggers by itself ..
Anirudh

User avatar
brownbag
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 161
Joined: 11 Oct 2007 12:00
Location: Melbourne

CYCLIC JOBS A B AND C

Post by brownbag » 13 Nov 2013 12:53

I would make sure that I use static conditions for all jobs and not use a dummy job. Then new day processing will not affect these jobs at all, and you don't need a dummy job to start it off every day.
The only catch is that you need to trigger the first job on the very first instance (not daily but just once only).

User avatar
sunuriyal
Nouveau
Nouveau
Posts: 27
Joined: 18 Jan 2014 12:00

Re: CYCLIC JOBS A B AND C

Post by sunuriyal » 30 Jan 2014 4:00

Hi,

No need to create a dummy job.
I created the cycle in my Dev environment looks good. Below is the detail what I did.

JOb A:
out condition Job_A-OK +
Time: from 1200 to 2300 I wanted my cycle to run in this time fram.
Step Tab: On: NOTOK
DO: condition Job_A-OK
ODAT
+
Job B:
Incondition: Job_A-OK
outcondition: Job_B-OK
Step tab: On: OK
DO: condition Job_A-OK
ODAT
-
On: NOTOK
DO: condition Job_A-OK
ODAT
-
On: NOTOK
DO: condition Job_B-OK
ODAT
+
Job C:
Incondition: Job_B-OK
out: Job_C-OK

Step tab: On: OK
DO: condition Job_B-OK
ODAT
-

On: NOTOK
DO: condition Job_B-OK
ODAT
-
In this way my cycle keeps running no matter any of the job is fails.

I hope I have not confused you again ;)

Post Reply