Page 1 of 1

Cyclic job issue

Posted: 25 Jan 2013 9:14
by Argss
I have a cyclic job that checks the availability of my database every 30 mins.
My requirement is once the jobs fails (means the DB is not avaialble) It should not check the DB again till it comes up. ( here I am tryin to avoid the redundent alerts). Once the DB comes up then it should resume its monitoring. Is there a workaround possible?

Posted: 25 Jan 2013 12:09
by mauriziog
You can:

a1. put a condition on the first ciclic job that there is always
when the jobs fails:
+ do condition - delete the in condition of the job
+ do force a second ciclic job that check the availability (like a ping).
a2. when the second see that the db is available: stop this second cyclic job and do condition + to start again the second job

This if the fail of the first job is infrequent.
If the notok is frequent: define and schedule the two jobs and play only with add and delete condition on all two jobs.

Hope that this can help you, regards

Posted: 25 Jan 2013 1:56
by Argss
Hi,

There are not 2 jobs.. there is only one job.. and I dont want to create any additional job.

Request you to please let me know he workaround only if one job exists.

Posted: 26 Jan 2013 12:05
by gglau
Upgrade to V8 which allows you to say

ON number of failures = 1 DO shout

Prior to V8, you have to achieve this with some form of coding to remember job's previous state.

Posted: 13 Feb 2013 3:14
by bujji
yes Set up a manual Condition with the ODATE STAT. Set it as incondition for that job . The job will run only when the Condition is avilable and when the runtime criteria is satisfied. Sytarted tasks will post the condition Every half an hour if is avilable.

Posted: 13 Feb 2013 10:31
by adam6
If you are jobless in USA than I have a good option for you. This is the list of jobs, you can find according to you.
most popular jobs    

Add retry logic on the job

Posted: 13 Feb 2013 2:53
by devi09
Please add the retry logic to the cyclic job through steps tab, so that the job will monitor the DB for every schedule time and will monitor as usual when it is online.

Thanks,
Devendra.