It is currently 24 May 2018 4:30


Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2012 6:11 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 2011 12:00
Posts: 17
We have a job that is just starting a server.

When ran from an ms-dos batch file, the msdos window will close just fine while the server is up and running.

When triggering thru Control-M, the sysous produces a weird number at the last line (here is the actual sysout output)

Quote:
echo Success
Success

exit /B 0

Job Object statistic
====================
Total User CPU Time: 0.344 second
Total Kernel CPU Time: 0.125 second
This Period Total User CPU Time: 0.344 second
This Period Total Kernel CPU Time: 0.125 second
Total Page Fault Count: 15090
Total Processes: 12
Active Processes: 0
Total Terminated Processes: 0
Total peak job memory used: 27.648 mega bytes

0000000080


The bolded number, we don't know where it comes from but something tells me it has to do with the fact that the job doesn't complete from a CM perspective.

Thank you for any help on this.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2012 8:38 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 2011 12:00
Posts: 17
The job starts a server

start /B "" "C:\Program Files\xxxx\Server.exe"


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2012 9:34 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 2011 12:00
Posts: 17
Will try that.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 09 Feb 2012 10:26 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 24 Oct 2011 12:00
Posts: 17
Actually, just modified the batch file to just do one thing:

exit 0

And the job stays yelloy whereas log shows that it went thru exit 0...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 17 Feb 2012 8:41 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 29 Nov 2006 12:00
Posts: 37
Location: Ile de France
Your job will end after stopping "Server".

Update your agent configuration :
Turn "Job children inside object" to "N" (run => cmd => ctmwincfg => 3 => "Enter the new value:" N => s)

Regards


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 20 Feb 2012 2:13 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 02 Nov 2007 12:00
Posts: 32
Location: Holland
On windows server where script is running:
check the autorized ctmserver:
command: ctmagcfg
5) Authorized CONTROL-M/Server Hosts : <servername>

check with ping if servername is known.

When not: check dns or host file
When ping is succesfull
- Check on ctmserver with ctmping if windowsserver is reachable or check firewall ports.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 25 Mar 2012 1:37 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 25 Oct 2011 12:00
Posts: 8
hi
check the p_ctmat process are able to run or not on that server.Updating the job status is part of its responibilty if it doesnt update that means its not able/allowed to work.
The best approach in this level is to restart Control-M Agent windows service itself which would fix this problem.
If you raise your debug level to 4 and comtrace to 1 through ctmagcfg u might get enough logs that would tell u exactly whats the problem


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 06 Apr 2012 3:54 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 29 Nov 2006 12:00
Posts: 37
Location: Ile de France
HI chookgate,

"Job children inside object" (JOB_WAIT in Registry) is a flag to "say" : job ends only when all invoked procedures were ended, or not.

Exemple: Control-M job MyJob with 'FileName' MyBatch.bat.
MyBatch.bat invoke a cmd.exe window.

If MyBatch.bat ends and cmd.exe window wasn't closed :
1°) "Job children inside object"=Y (default) : MyJob is executing until the end of all invoked procedure (in our exemple : cmd.exe closure)
2°) "Job children inside object"=N when MyBatch.bat ends, MyJob ends.

Regards


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 13 Apr 2012 10:17 
Test hostname resolving from Agent to Server.
Simply ping your server HOSTNAME from agent's host.

If it can not ping (resolve) Hostname of server, then Agent process can return sysout (as it is already open connection), but new process can not send the updated status of the job.

Maybe in explanation of the problem i'm not right, but after fixing the resolve problem I solved all of such problems on my customer site.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: 30 Apr 2012 2:49 
Offline
Nouveau
Nouveau
User avatar

Joined: 08 Jun 2007 12:00
Posts: 1148
Location: Ile de France
don't think so , this messages "00000080" means that your agent is in a default outpout format (80 columns), and is taken as a default because you launch a job by a agent that is not the local one (CM for everything from a agent witch is not the definitive host), or by a master agent hosting differents remote host.

regards,
Philmalmaison


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC+02:00


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
cron
Powered by phpBB® Forum Software © phpBB Limited
The site created by Franck YOT. Images, logo, content and trademarks about Control-M products are property of BMC Software.
All the comments are property of their posters. Images, logo, content and design are © copyright by Scheduler-Usage.com. All Rights Reserved